Regional Plans and Current Implementation Projects

Our Region's Most Valuable Designation

Flint Hills Economic Development District & Plan

With the Flint Hills Economic Development District regional designation, the region has access to millions of dollars to support the Flint Hills.

Flint Hills Economic Development District = Chase, Geary, Lyon, Morris, Pottawatomie, Riley, and Wabaunsee Counties

Supporting Our Region's Largest Economic Generator: Fort Riley & Surrounding Communities

  • Joint Land Use Study Update 2017
  • Junction City Housing Assessment
  • Military Installation Resiliency
  • Green Valley Transportation Study
  • Smokey Hill Unmanned Aircraft

Supporting Redevelopment Opportunities

  • Pottawatomie Courthouse Reuse Plan 2022
  • Junction City & Manhattan Area Plans / Individual Property Owner Environmental Assessments

Community Development Block Grants

The FHRC assists in obtaining funds for projects through the Small Cities CDBG Program. The Kansas Department of Commerce distributes CDBG federal funds to Kansas cities and counties in four primary categories: Annual Competitive Grants, Economic Development Grants, Commercial Rehabilitation Grants, Urgent Need Grants, and Housing Grants.

Open to All Jurisdictions within FHRC Service Area
Connecting Entrepreneurs to Center for the Advancement of Entrepreneurship