We want to see the Flint Hills Region thrive!


The Flint Hills Regional Council is a non-profit, voluntary service association of local Kansas governments to provide services of mutual benefit to the region with the goal of enhancing economic vitality and improving quality of life throughout the Flint Hills

Ways We Do This:

  • Collaborate with local governments, agencies and residents
  • Partner on funding opportunities to meet match requirements
  • Administer for the Flint Hills Economic Development District

Our Powerful Potential

The Flint Hills Regional Council supports the region's largest economic generator - Fort Riley - and the surrounding communities. Goals include bringing more funding to the region, job creation, quality of place, population retention, stretching local dollars further, coordinating regionally when it makes sense, and working to move local priorities forward.

2021-2026 FHEDD Plan

The vision of the Flint Hills Economic Development District is to increase regional prosperity by being a globally competitive, business-friendly region comprised of healthy communities that sustain a high-quality of life.

~$2M in Recent Federal Funding Supporting Region

Our most recent awards brought ~$2M in federal funding, with only $166,772 in match contribution--serving seven counties and 25 member jurisdictions.  Our two most recent awards totaling $918,000, enables us to continue our important work in supporting Fort Riley and the surrounding communities, as well as, serve as a regional leaders in our Recovery and Resiliency efforts and an administrator of our region's most important designation as an official Flint Hills Economic Development District through the Economic Development Administration (EDA).


Our Additional Services

We also provide community planning, grant, and technical assistance to our member jurisdictions.  We understand and value the importance of working collaboratively, as we are stronger together and more effective.  Industry markets, workforce, public health, access to healthcare and mental health services, emergency services and environmental issues do not stop at jurisdictional boundaries.  These issues require cooperation and coordination between communities.  The Flint Hills Regional Council exists to support the facilitation of collaborative efforts that bring mutual benefit to the region.

Our meetings are open to the public.

We welcome your support and service!